Skillful New Jersey Lawyer Defends Clients Cited for Reckless Driving
Trusted Vernon attorney represents drivers accused of endangering others
Reckless driving is considered one of the most serious moving violations in New Jersey. Punishments can be severe, and may include jail time. The Law Offices of James C. Zimmermann vigorously opposes reckless driving charges clients face in the courts of Sussex, Bergen, Passaic and Essex counties. We defend the rights of accused offenders and challenge the evidence presented by law enforcement officers and prosecutors. Helping clients overcome legal challenges since 1991, our firm’s attorney has significant experience taking on serious allegations brought against North Jersey motorists.
North Jersey attorney challenges reckless driving charges leveled by prosecutors
Under New Jersey law, a reckless driver is someone who “drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.”
Reckless driving does not refer to any one specific activity. Instead, it is a crime charged at a law enforcement officer’s discretion. For this reason, a police officer may see fit to issue reckless driving tickets for a wide range of purported driver behaviors, from swerving in and out of traffic, to excessive speeding to driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
For a reckless driving charge to be valid, a prosecutor must establish that the driver willfully put others in danger. Our firm’s attorney can challenge the notion that a driver’s actions were not purposeful, or that they were not likely to lead to injury or property damage.
Experienced attorney negotiates for lower license points and penalty fines
A reckless driving ticket issued in New Jersey should always be taken seriously. Reckless driving is punishable by:
- License points — A conviction for reckless driving adds five points to the offender’s license. This point increase may result in the driver’s insurance premium being raised by several hundred dollars.
- Jail time — A judge can sentence a reckless driver to up to 60 days in jail upon a first conviction, or up to three months for a subsequent offense.
- License suspension — A municipal court judge has the power to suspend the driver’s license for up to 90 days.
- Fines — First-time offenders may be fined up to $200. A second-time offender can be fined up to $500.
Our firm can seek to have a reckless driving charge reduced to the two-point offense of careless driving, or to another lesser violation. We will fight to protect your rights by arguing for a dismissal, acquittal or reduction in penalty.
Contact an assertive New Jersey reckless driving defense attorney for a free consultation
With locations in Vernon, Wayne, Pompton Lakes, Hackensack and Nutley, the Law Offices of James C. Zimmermann defends individuals ticketed for reckless driving in New Jersey. To schedule a free initial consultation with our firm, call 973-764-1633 or contact us online.